Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Courtesy of Good Reads

Courtesy of Good Reads

The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite—the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free? ~From GoodReads

I have been a risk-taker lately. I bought another e-book–a young adult e-book. Though in my defense, I didn’t know it was young adult until I did a little more research before I actually bought it. However, we can’t judge a book by it’s section in Books-a-Million. I was really surprised by this book, but the premise sounded interesting. Who doesn’t love an orphan in fantasy?

Okay, I have to insert something here. I have seen blogs that are hating on the orphan of fantasy. I can understand wanting to change the formula, but the thing about orphaning a character is that you give them freedom. No cronies can kidnap there family and torture them. You don’t have to listen to the mom complain about how the main character is always off on another adventure. They don’t have to worry or think about them. So, I give authors a bit of leniency in such an instance.

Now, back to the review. Alina is a great character. You know why? Because she starts off weak and ugly and pathetic. Well, not so much pathetic. But she doesn’t just enter into the story full of power, charisma, or long flowing locks. I would’ve preferred a chubby character, if only because there aren’t enough of those. Anyways, of course, she discovers she has this amazing power and suddenly she’s special. The magic in this is pretty awesome and unique–I would explain, but I don’t really want to give anything away.

The story overall is kind of formulaic for YA books, but the plot and the magic make it worth a read. It is completely different than other fantasy books since it actually uses Russia for its base.  I look forward to the next book in the series, and once I can afford it, I’ll review it. Until then, this book is a good read for young fantasy lovers particularly those geeky girls who don’t know their own strength. I’m sorry for this being so short, but it felt like a super light read. My next one should be longer.. stay tuned for The Golem and The Jinni!

Leave a Reply

