March Madness: Books to Look For

So, I’ve decided to do this new series the Friday before the next month starts in which I discuss five books released that month. Unfortunately, I won’t always review the books I feature here, at least until I’m making enough money to cover all my necessities first. Thankfully, I had some Amazon moolah left over from my wedding last year and was able to pre-order a hardback copy of my favorite author’s new book, which is top of this month’s list. So, as soon as I get that read, I’ll post a review the Wednesday closest to the date I finish it. Also, I will probably post comments/quotes on my Twitter while I read it, so you can look forward to that! Now that the housekeeping (as my professor says) is done, let’s get down to the fun stuff! The books I’m most looking forward to this month are:

5. Promise of Bl15790883ood by Brian McClellan

The Age of Kings is dead . . . and I have killed it.

It’s a bloody business overthrowing a king…
Field Marshal Tamas’ coup against his king sent corrupt aristocrats to the guillotine and brought bread to the starving. But it also provoked war with the Nine Nations, internal attacks by royalist fanatics, and the greedy to scramble for money and power by Tamas’s supposed allies: the Church, workers unions, and mercenary forces. Stretched to his limit, Tamas is relying heavily on his few remaining powder mages, including the embittered Taniel, a brilliant marksman who also happens to be his estranged son, and Adamat, a retired police inspector whose loyalty is being tested by blackmail.

~Read more on Goodreads

The main reason I’ve included this is that many people seem to be anticipating it, and I have never heard of anything like it. Magic and guns? Seems a bit overpowered to me, but hey, Alloy of Law was good. I actually am pretty fond of fantasy books with military tactics in them. I always love seeing a well made move.  So, it comes in fifth on the list, but still, you never know, it could be better than everything except number one.

4. The Lascar’s Dagger by Glenda Larke17899422

Saker appears to be a simple priest, but in truth he’s a spy for the head of his faith. Wounded in the line of duty by a Lascar sailor’s blade, the weapon seems to follow him home. Unable to discard it, nor the sense of responsibility it brings, Saker can only follow its lead. ~ Read more on Goodreads

I read Glenda Larke’s Stormlord Trilogy and it was a bit slow in parts, but really interesting in it’s magic systems. I’m hoping that she will do the same thing here and surprise me. Also, I really want to find out what is making that dagger tick: is it a god, magic, sentience? What could it be?

3. Emperor of Thorns by Mark Lawrence15985373

To reach the throne requires that a man journey. Even a path paved with good intentions can lead to hell, and my intentions were never good.

The Hundred converge for Congression to politic upon the corpse of Empire, and while they talk the Dead King makes his move, and I make mine.

~Read more on Goodreads

Ugh.. I can’t say as much about this one as I’ve only read the first book and didn’t have the money for the second. The first one I had trouble with because I hadn’t read anything in first person (at least in adult fantasy) in a very long time, and the narrator talks in a rather unique way which made me think it was badly written, but now I don’t think that at all and I look forward to the rest of the series. I would recommend it to anyone who likes dark, bloody fantasy.

2. Thief’s Magic by Trudi Canavan17302559

In a world where an industrial revolution is powered by magic, Tyen, a student of archaeology, discovers an sentient book in an ancient tomb. Vella was once a young sorcerer-maker, until she was transformed into a useful tool by one of the greatest sorcerers of history. Since then she has been gathering information, including a vital clue to the disaster Tyen’s world faces.

~Read more on Goodreads

Trudi Canavan is one of my favorite fantasy writers so, of course, her next book is second on the list. I’m thinking steampunk is becoming bigger than I thought it was with as many industrial type books as are becoming popular. But anyways, this book sounds awesome, like something out of a Miyazaki movie (if you seen his movies you’ll understand). I know that Trudi Canavan’s characters are strong and flawed, and this is something different that I’ve seen her write. 

115431951. Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson

In the first volume, we were introduced to the remarkable world of Roshar, a world both alien and magical, where gigantic hurricane-like storms scour the surface every few days and life has adapted accordingly. Roshar is shared by humans and the enigmatic, humanoid Parshendi, with whom they are at war. Among those caught up in the conflict are Highprince Dalinar Kholin, who leads the human armies; his neice Jasnah, a renowned scholar; her student Shallan, a brilliant but troubled young woman; and Kaladin, a military slave who, by the book’s end, was beginning to become the first magically endowed Knight Radiant in centuries.

Read more on Goodreads

If you follow this blog, you know that I have an immense love for Brandon Sanderson’s books and so this book is the one I preordered. But this series is an epic, a future classic, that we will look back and remember and reread over and over again. I love this series and it’s amazing plethora of characters. Sanderson does amazing things when he weaves these very different stories into one great tale. 

Leave a Reply

