Guests of Honor by Cat Amesbury

I recently received an email from a lovely author asking me to review her book, despite my crazy schedule. I have to say I am so grateful for her contacting me and introducing me to her magical story. And before I say anything else, yes, it was a light read. I know it seems I say that a bunch, but once I get started on a good book, I can’t seem to stop. Now for a blurb:

A woman, a fox, and a magical inn

Honor Desry’s only employee is a magical nudist, her guest list has an abnormal fascination with eels, and a surprising number of household objects are trying to hurt her.

When Honor’s mother mysteriously disappeared, Honor became responsible for both her younger sisters and the family inn. Now, all Honor wants to do is run the inn, pay the bills, and not get killed by her unusually violent toaster.

Unfortunately for Honor, the Virtue Inn has more secrets than it does rooms and the Guests are restless. If Honor wants to keep her house –and her head- she’s going to have to learn how to please The Guests of Honor.

Warning: Contains some violence, profanity, innuendo, and semi-sentient household objects.

I had to put the warning at the end. It amuses me. Anyways, to get on with the review. The style in which the author writes reminds me of Eva Ibbotson, one of my favorite childhood writers. If you don’t know who she is, you should. The speculative, humorous third person she writes in is thoroughly enjoyable. But anyways, it makes me think, what if Eva Ibbotson wrote Spirited Away for adults? If you haven’t watched Spirited Away, go watch it. Right now. If you don’t like it, we need to have a serious discussion. But seriously, an ordinary woman put in a place where she has to attend supernatural creatures who has an interesting/attractive companion? How can you not want to read that?

The plot does move pretty fast, but you are experiencing everything with the character, Honor, and things are moving pretty fast for her too. In my opinion, the author does a good job of combining the humorous and the realistic in her characters. Also, Kay is just plain hot! Hey, reviewers can fan girl too! Also, it’s another story where names have power, but the setting, gosh, the setting makes it. I love the magical sentient Inn; it is definitely a part of a very diverse cast.

Everyone is going to think me dishonest, but I have really been loving the books I have gotten recently. I am sure there are critiques I could make, but why ruin such a pleasant read? Hope you will check this book out; it is perfect for those who loved fairy tales!

Guests of Honor on Amazon

4 thoughts on “Guests of Honor by Cat Amesbury

  1. Thank you for fitting this into your busy schedule! I have had so much fun writing this series that it makes me very happy to see others enjoy it as well.

    P.S. Everyone should watch “Spirited Away”. There is no excuse for not watching “Spirited Away”.

Leave a Reply

