The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfoss

nameofthewindHere I am, late again. I can’t seem to get everything together. I am looking for work most of the time and my brother who usually lives with his dad is staying with my mom over the summer so which means he is staying with us or we are over there. He loves my husband and is a teenager. So, he doesn’t care about his awesome big sister any more. Anyways, I am in a slump not having work and worrying about money, so forgive me for being very late.

To get on with the review… I finally got to read The Name of the Wind after much trouble with shipping and reading other books. And a book has not enthralled me like that for a while. Or maybe since the Word of Radiance. But before I start raving, you might want to know what it is about:

Told in Kvothe’s own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen. The intimate narrative of his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-ridden city, his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, and his life as a fugitive after the murder of a king form a gripping coming-of-age story unrivaled in recent literature. A high-action story written with a poet’s hand, The Name of the Wind is a masterpiece that will transport readers into the body and mind of a wizard

.

I have seen some reviewers claim it to be like a grown-up version of Harry Potter, and I have to say I agree in some ways. I love when magic is put in an academic setting, but I think it’s more like Harry Potter in the addictive nature that it is told. The academia could be compared to Ursula le Guin’s Earthsea books, which I haven’t read in ages, but what I thought of. It did make this book great, because it made the book challenging and intellectual. It pushed to a better reader and thinker.

But what I love about this book is the first-person narrative. I have always been drawn to first-person, but rarely come across it in fantasy. It isn’t first person the entire time, and perhaps, that is why it works so well. I get absorbed in characters even when reading third person, so Name of the Wind really pushed me into Kvothe’ s, the main character’s, body.

He was a fascinating character, anyways. He is extremely intelligent, actually a certified genius to be more specific. But he is also a fallible human being with emotions befitting his character. He has an internal strength that we see both uplifting him and depleting. It makes for an excellent contrast.

For once, I will say this is not a light read. It weighs heavy intellectually, emotionally, and on your time. But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t read it; if anything, it should mean the opposite. It is pretty much high fantasy, but breaks the rules in new and smart ways.

6 thoughts on “The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfoss

  1. Just finished reading this for the second time. Interestingly, I didn’t realize it was 1st person until my second round. Obviously I knew it was told like a story, but it just all happened so fluidly I actually had to take myself out of the story to realize it was all told in 1st. Very cool.

    You MUST read the second one. If you enjoyed the Name of the Wind, The Wise Man’s Fear will have you convulsing with epicness. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

