Scion of the Wood (Southwind Knights #3) B.E. Priest

southwind3So, not only am I in between jobs, but I also I am fighting off sickness. I think I might have strep, actually. So that’s great. I can’t seem to get my act together, but I promise I’m trying.

Also, if you haven’t checked out this series before, you need to. I have reviews of both the first book and the second. If you want to jump right in to this review, go ahead. I work hard to make reviews spoiler-free if I can. But if you are wondering if you want the third one, maybe this will help you make up your mind:

A monster is loose in the Trees’ Wood, 
and the rebellion is suddenly revealed. 
As Galen’s dark past comes to light, 
war breaks out in the Queendom, 
and Asher must choose a path, 
risking all that he holds dear. 

The third book in the Southwind Knights series seemed longer than the others, though it might not actually be. It wasn’t that it was a harder read; but perhaps it was longer (or seemed that way) because we are introduced to the overarching villain. Asher continues to develop as a character whose heroic flaw could be that he cares about individuals too much. This book sets the scene for our hero and ends with foreshadowing on who he is to become. I’m mad at the author for the way the character development happened; even while expecting it, I wasn’t ready! You are a big jerk face, sir! However, it was necessary and you will see what I mean when you get to it and are pissed like me.

Also, I have to say that I love idea of the villain. He is messed up in more ways than one. The Scion is definitely going to be an awesome opponent in the future. Smart, ruthless, and magical in an interesting way, there is great potential in him. These little bits of story are killing me, but at the same time, I’m thinking about writing a serial myself. As always, I’m already ready for the next installment and I hope you will join me in following Asher’s adventures as he will battle both himself and The Scion.

Buy The Scion of the Woods 

2 thoughts on “Scion of the Wood (Southwind Knights #3) B.E. Priest

  1. I’m assuming it’s my books making you sick 😦 Sorry. But thanks for sticking with me! Seriously though, thanks. Seeing feedback like this helps me keep the reader’s perspective in mind, and it helps me with the follow-ups a little bit.

    JERK FACE?! I’m actually thrilled by your response on that matter. Expected/unexpected/upsetting/yetnecessary is perfect.

    If you wanna bounce any ideas or questions about serializing off me, lemme know!

    • Yes, you are a big jerk face. As a writer, I understand, but as a reader, I wanna cry. I try not to cuss on my blog, but you made me want to so bad.

      Also, I probably will be soon. I’m going to be writing for Camp Nanowrimo next month; so, who knows what will happen.

Leave a Reply

